历史文化研究中心成功举办“中国和两河流域早期历史书写”系列讲座  

2021年10月16日至30日,历史文化研究中心举办了“中国和两河流域早期历史书写”系列网络讲座(https://historywriting.org)。 该系列讲座由北京师范大学历史文化研究中心、南方科技大学人文社会科学荣誉学会和上海外国语大学全球文明历史研究所联合举办,重点关注中国古代和美索不达米亚的早期史学实践。讲座的主要语言为英语,同时配备了同声传译服务。

 

在第一轮活动中,历史文化研究中心的葛觉智博士就中国早期历史文本的构建进行了演讲,探讨了不同的精英群体如何利用历史记录来促进他们的团体利益。上海外国语大学王献华教授则做了关于古代苏美尔人历史时间观念的讲座。

葛觉智博士


王献华教授


第二轮活动中,来自南方科技大学的唐际根教授开展了题为“古史的实地版:谈夏、商王朝历史的考古学重建”的讲座,探讨了中国早期历史和史前权力中心的考古证据。明斯特大学的Odette Boivin博士则通过三篇关于古代巴比伦历史文献的分析,讨论了巴比伦国家历史的多种写法。


唐 O.png


在最后一轮活动中,麦吉尔大学的方丽特教授以司马迁和司马谈为例,讨论了史官在中国早期史学创作中的作用。 Piotr Steinkeller教授则了探讨巴比伦尼亚“管理阶层”从公元前三千年的寺庙庄园管理员到公元前一千年的君王谋士的转变。 

 

方丽特教授


Piotr Steinkeller教授


本次系列讲座创造了一个研究早期中国、两河流域的国际学术交流的开端,受到了中外听众的广泛关注。本次活动的组织者葛觉智博士将探讨新的合作项目,旨在更深入地研究这一主题,激发中外学术界的讨论。

RCHC successfully conducts a lecture series on early Chinese and Mesopotamian history-writing

On 16-30 October 2021, the Research Centre for History and Culture has conducted an online lecture series "Origins of Chinese and Mesopotamian History-Writing" (historywriting.org/). The event, joinly organized with SUSTech (Shenzhen) and SISU (Shanghai), was focused on the early historiographic practices in ancient China and Mesopotamia. Most lectures were presented in English, and simultaneous interpretation was provided for those participants who preferred to follow the conversation in Mandarin.

 

During the first round of the conversation, Dr. Yegor Grebnev from RCHC has given a talk about early Chinese historical texts constructed to provide models for social relations in the present and future. Professor Wang Xianhua from Shanghai International Studies University gave a talk concerning the perceptions of historical time in ancient Sumer. 


Dr. Yegor Grebnev


Professor Wang Xianhua


During the second week, Professor Tang Jigen from the Southern University of Science and Technology (Shenzhen) has given a talk about the archaeological evidence regarding the centres of power in early Chinese history and pre-history. Dr. Odette Boivin from the University of Münster has discussed the practices of historiographic synthesis in Babylonia during the first half of the first millennium BCE.


TANG AND O.png


During the final event, Professor Griet Vankeerberghen (McGill University) discussed the role of scribes in the creation of early Chinese historiography focusing on the example of Sima Qian and Sima Tan, the authors of the first integrative Chinese history (Shiji). Professor Piotr Steinkeller gave a talk about the role of the "managerial class" in the shaping of Mesopotamian history, covering a wide range of sources from the third to the first millennium.


Professor Griet Vankeerberghen


Professor Piotr Steinkeller


The workshop attracted substantial attention from Chinese and foreign audiences and its sessions were attended by an impressive number of participants from China and abroad.

 

Although the comparative study of Chinese and Mesopotamian history can help to make great advancements in the understanding of the ancient world, relatively little research has been conducted in this area so far. The organizer of the event, Dr Yegor Grebnev, will be exploring opportunities for new collaborative projects aiming to investigate this theme at a greater depth, stimulating the discussion in both Chinese and foreign academic communities.