尼罗河的礼物:埃及

埃及的地理

尼罗河是埃及文明的发源地。埃及的繁荣与其所依托的农业,都归功于尼罗河每年夏季洪水所带来的肥沃土壤。三千多年来,古埃及王国的核心区域一直都在尼罗河南部第一大瀑布与地中海沿岸之间。埃及南部是库什王国,也称为“努比亚”,而埃及北部和东部邻国以色列-巴勒斯坦在历史上发生了巨大变化。尼罗河附近的沙漠地区大部分是贫瘠和荒无人烟的,但是部分地方可以游牧,因而散落在西部沙漠的绿洲小镇也能蓬勃发展。埃及靠近地中海沿岸的下游部分形成了尼罗河在平坦冲积层上的巨大扇形,被称之为“三角洲”。在上游段,尼罗河形成了一个几乎像峡谷一样的环境,两侧是悬崖,限制了农田的规模。埃及农民在河流两岸的洪泛区种植农作物,这是河流季节性淹没的地方。这场洪水也是埃及农业繁荣的关键。不需要任何人工方法,尼罗河洪水就会在河岸上沉积丰富的淤泥,形成肥沃的土壤。


001.jpg

 

从远古说起

从公元前五千年到公元前四千年,埃及文化开始了从新石器时代到青铜时代的缓慢过渡,展示出城市建筑、广泛的谷物种植以及丰富的陶瓷和墓葬传统的迹象。早在史前时代,就有迹象表明埃及人相信“来世”,人们相信在另一个世界将会度过第二个人生,精致的墓葬及陪葬品就是明证。到公元前3100年,以往独立的埃及大城市如阿比多斯、纳卡达和希拉孔波利斯,都逐渐臣服在唯一的统治者之下,这位统治者被尊称为“法老”(字面意思是“大房屋”)。 埃及象形文字,也出现在这一时期,首先由一些作为标签的符号组成,最终转变为一个扩展的字符集,可以重现口语,并在各种媒介上传播长篇叙事文本,如石头、木材和被称为纸草的“埃及纸”。

 

到了古王国时代(公元前 2700 年),法老作为帝国的最高统治者,掌控着埃及土地上一切,至今仍宏伟的建筑遗迹如金字塔,便是这些法老无上权势的具体象征。尤其是第四王朝的吉萨金字塔,这巨大的建筑是世界上最大的历史遗迹,由 230万块石灰石块组成,高达146 米。金字塔被认为是法老的陵寝,在法老死后,会有一系列复杂的丧葬仪式。国王的遗体被用葬礼船运到金字塔内,然后最终被放入棺材和石棺(石质外棺材)中。祭祀时,祭司和官员们吟诵咒语,其中包括一套被称为“金字塔文”的长咒语。


002.jpg


埃及年表与历史

几千年的埃及历史被历史学家马内托划分为数个家族式王朝。马内托是托勒密时代的一位讲希腊语的埃及牧师古埃及大约有 30 个朝代,但这个数字有点模糊,因为并非每个“朝代”都是相关的宗谱家族,而且有些朝代是重叠的。1, 2 王朝构成了早期王朝埃及国家的起源,其次是古王国时期(3-6王朝),即金字塔建造者的时代。接下来是第一中间期(8-11王朝),指得是古埃及政治分裂时期,当时埃及没有最高的中央政府,而是同时存在敌对的王朝和势力。紧随其后的是中王国时期 (11-13王朝),也是艺术和古典文学的黄金时期。此后是第二中间期(14-16王朝),在这一时期,异族在尼罗河三角洲建立了一个说闪米特语的敌对王朝-海克索斯王朝,而埃及的主权则受到努比亚人克尔玛的控制。新王国时期(18-20王朝)也许是埃及权力的顶峰,这一时期的著名法老(图特摩斯三世、哈特谢普苏特、阿肯那顿、图坦卡蒙、拉美西斯二世)控制着整个帝国,从努比亚一直延伸到叙利亚幼发拉底河岸边。随后的经济衰退以及与利比亚人的战争,结束了这段光辉岁月,埃及迎来了第三中间期(20-25王朝)。这一时期的特点是,异族不仅征服了利比亚人,也降伏了25 王朝的努比亚国王。埃及独立权力的最后阶段是晚期(26-31王朝),随后受到希腊罗马统治,古埃及帝国正式走入历史。

 

古埃及宗教与神话

埃及以外的古代作家们(主要是希腊与罗马),经常着迷于描绘埃及神秘的宗教及古埃及人的虔诚。尤其是许多埃及神祇的兽性化身,长着豺狼头的阿努比斯、有着猎鹰头的拉或牛头的哈索尔。过往的认知,是将埃及诸神视为与动物一体,但这可能是相当程度的误解。埃及众神呈现出无数复杂的形式,他们与动物的联系经常被用来强调神的特定特征。例如,死亡与木乃伊之神阿努比斯被描绘成一个豺狼头,这很可能是因为这种食腐动物经常在墓地里挖掘坟墓。其他重要的神像奥西里斯(死神和来世之神)、卜塔(工匠之神)和阿蒙神(创造者之神)没有动物的表现,而是纯粹以人的形式描绘。每个神都有自己的神殿,这样的神殿也可以用来神化国王。这些神庙中最大和最重要的无疑是卡纳克神庙,它是阿蒙神的神殿,而阿蒙神是类似于中王国和新王国时期的“国神”。

 

埃及宗教有一套复杂而丰富的神话和宗教文献,它们赞美神灵并讲述神圣戏剧的故事。埃及诸神都是自然宇宙的一部分(例如哈比神就是尼罗河本身),故事有助于交流和解释他们周围的宇宙,并以此作为宗教仪式的基础。埃及最著名的故事之一是荷鲁斯和赛斯的故事:这是一部带有道德色彩的神话戏剧,描述了儿子(荷鲁斯)和叔叔(赛斯)之间关于继承遗产的竞争。其他宗教文本则讲述了来世的复杂仪式,例如,被埋葬在埃及人的坟墓里《死亡之书》,是一系列由死者和为死者说出的咒语,以便他们可以进入来世。这种做法的高潮是“称心仪式”,它评估死者的心脏是否因罪恶而沉重或轻如羽毛——如果过重,则死者会被称为阿米特的野兽吃掉;如果轻如鸿毛,则死者可以不受阻碍地进入他们的第二次生命。

 

古埃及与外部世界

尽管有相反的说法,但埃及在非洲东北部的沙漠中并不孤单,而且沙漠远非空旷。西边是利比亚人,他们主要是游牧民族,他们是埃及的强大敌人,他们自己也成为了法老。埃及南部是努比亚人和库什王国,这是一个强大的王国,是埃及大部分贸易商品(如黄金、熏香和外来动物)的发源地。努比亚和埃及有着复杂的历史,彼此之间的征战也互有消长,两个王国之间总会修筑一系列的防御工事来抵御外敌。战争往往使政权递擅,在新王国时期,埃及消灭了库什王国并殖民了大部分土地。同样在第25王朝,努比亚国王征服了埃及并将其范围纳为帝国的一个省。

 

埃及北部和东部黎凡特是各种定居群体和游牧群体。埃及人在每个时代都与这些人进行贸易,特别是腓尼基(现代黎巴嫩)的港口城市。新王国的法老征服了以色列-巴勒斯坦的大部分地区,并与当地统治者建立了附庸关系。从公元前1100年开始,近东的新敌人,如赫梯人、亚述人和波斯人,从该地区向埃及发起挑战,最终在波斯人的统治下征服了埃及。来自北方亚历山大大帝(公元前 332 年)和他的继任者托勒密一世领导下的希腊人,也是埃及的最后一波征服者。随着罗马帝国在东地中海范围的日益强大,埃及最终也失去所有领地,并成为罗马的一个行省,最后一位托勒密统治者是著名的克利奥帕特拉七世(公元前 30 年)

 

从最早的法老开始,埃及人派出了许多探险队到邻近的沙漠进行贸易,但主要是为了寻找矿产财富东部沙漠和西奈半岛是世界上矿产资源最丰富的地区之一,含有许多珍贵的矿物,如孔雀石(眼漆)、铜、铅、金,以及绿松石和玛瑙等宝石。埃及帝国的财富与探索的成果,往往化成如图坦卡蒙面具之类的陪葬品。探险队还穿越沙漠,在红海沿岸建立港口,与红海南部遥远的邦特土地进行贸易,并获得珍贵的产品用于他们的寺庙仪式。在托勒密帝国统治下,这种红海贸易到达新的土地,成为南部“海上丝绸之路”的一部分,连接埃及与印度、东非,甚至远至越南和中国的土地。

Egypt: the “Gift of the Nile”

Geography
Egypt is the land of the Nile River, and it owes much of its prosperity and agricultural fertility to the bounty that this river brings in its annual summer floods. For over three thousand years, the core area of ancient Egyptian kingdoms was more or less stable, situated between the first Cataract of the Nile in the south and the Mediterranean coast in the North. South of Egypt were the Kingdoms of Kush, also called ‘Nubia’, while Egypt’s north and eastern neighbours in Israel-Palestine changed dramatically throughout history. The deserts adjacent to the Nile are largely barren and uninhabited, although in some places nomadism was possible and small towns flourished in oases of the Western Desert. The ‘Lower’ part of Egypt near the Mediterranean coast witnesses a huge spread or fan of the Nile River over the flat alluvium, which we call ‘the Delta’. In ‘Upper’ Egypt the Nile forms an almost canyon-like environment flanked by cliffs, restricting the size of farmlands. Egyptian farmers grew crops on either bank of the river on the floodplain, a seasonally inundated part of the river. This flood was also key to the fertility of Egyptian agriculture. Without the need for any artificial fertilizing, the Nile flood would deposit rich silts on the riverbank, allowing for a great boon of fertility. Planting would begin as soon as flood waters received.


001.jpg

From prehistory to history

Along the banks of the river in the Fifth and Fourth Millenniums BCE, Egyptian culture began the slow transition from the Neolithic to the Bronze Age, showing signs of urban architecture, widespread farming of cereals and grains and a rich ceramic and burial tradition. Already in the prehistoric, there are signs that Egyptians believed in an ‘afterlife’, a second life spent in another sphere (the Netherworld) – the great care taken in the burial and the internment of goods with the burial are a testament to the rich traditions regarding this cultural practice. By 3100 BCE, previously independent Egyptian urban centres like Abydos, Naqada, and Hierakonpolis became unified under the authority of one leader, which we call a ‘Pharaoh’ (literally ‘Great House’). The first writing, Egyptian hieroglyphs, also arose in this period, first constituting a small group of signs acting as labels and eventually transforming into an expanded repertoire which could recreate spoken language and communicate long narrative texts on various medium such as stone, wood, and ‘Egyptian-paper’ called Papyrus.

By the Old Kingdom (c. 2700 BCE) the office of Pharaoh had centralized all decision making and economy in the entire land of Egypt – the power they yielded can be witnessed in their grand stone monuments they constructed which survive to the present day. The most famous of these are the Pyramids, most notably the Pyramids of Giza constructed by the pharaohs of the 4th Dynasty. These huge constructions, some of the largest monuments in world history, were grandiose burials of the King and consist of 2.3 million limestone blocks assembled to a height of 146 metres. Upon the death of a king, a complex set of rituals took place around the King’s burial. The King’s body was taken on a funeral boat to the pyramid complex itself and then eventually placed in a coffin and a sarcophagus (stone outer coffin). While this happened, priests and officials uttered many ritual incantations contained in a long set of spells called the The Pyramid Texts.


002.jpg


Egyptian chronology and history

The several thousand years of Egyptian history was divided into dynastic families by the historian Manetho, a Greek speaking Egyptian priest of the Ptolemaic era who had access to old archives. There are approximately 30 dynasties, but this figure is a bit vague as not every ‘dynasty’ was a related geneaological family and some dynasties overlap. Dynasties 1-2 constitute the origins of the Egyptian state in the Early Dynastic, which is followed by the Old Kingdom (Dynasties 3-6), the age of the Pyramid builders. Next is the First Intermediate Period (Dyn 8-11), the term ‘Intermediate Period, is used to refer to periods of political fragmentation when there was no central authority but rather rival powers and dynasties in the land. Following this is Middle Kingdom (Dyn. 11-13) an artistic golden of art and classical literature. By the Second Intermediate Period (Dyn 14-16) foreigners had set up a rival dynasty in the Delta comprising of Semitic speaking Hyksos, while Egyptian sovereignty was checked by the Nubian power of Kerma. The New Kingdom (Dyn 18-20) is perhaps the height of Egyptian power, famous pharaohs of this period (Thutmosis III, Hatshepsut, Akhenaton, Tutankhamun, Ramesses II) controlled an empire of conquest stretching from deep into Nubia to the banks of the Euphrates River in Syria. Economic decline as well as battles and migrations with Libyans brought this period to a close and ushered in the Third Intermediate Period (Dyn. 20-25), a period characterized by foreign domination of not just Libyans but also Nubian Kings of the 25th Dynasty. Egypt’s last phase of independent power was the in the Late Period (Dyn. 26-31) which was followed by Graeco-Roman rule.


Egyptian religion & mythology

Ancient authors from outside Egypt, chiefly Greece and Rome, were frequent to note the strange and pious nature of Egyptians and their religion. What troubled them was the animalistic manifestations of many Egyptian gods, Anubis with a jackal-head, Ra with a falcon-head, or Hathor with a cow-head. This interpretation of Egyptian gods is partly a mistaken belief that gods were one and the same as the animal. Egyptian gods take on a myriad of complex forms and their association with animals was often used to emphasize a particular trait of the god. Anubis, the god of death and mummification, for example, was depicted with a jackal-head most likely due to the nature of this scavenging animal frequently exhuming graves in cemeteries. Other important gods like Osiris (the god of death and afterlife), Ptah (craftsmen-god), and Amun (a universal creator-god) had no animalistic manifestations and were instead depicted purely in human form. Each god had their own dedicated temple, and such temples could also be erected to deified King’s. The largest and most important of these temples was no doubt Karnak, the home of the god Amun who had become something like a ‘state-god’ of the Middle and New Kingdom’s.

Egyptian religion had a complex and rich set of mythologies and religious literature that praised gods and told stories of divine drama. Egyptian gods were both part of the natural universe and cosmos (the god Hapy for example was the Nile itself) and stories helped to communicate and explain the universe around them as well as act as a basis for continued rituals. One of the most well-known Egyptian stories is the story of Horus and Seth, a divine drama with moralistic tones describing rivalry over inheritance between the son (Horus) and the uncle (Seth). Other religious texts narrate complex rituals of the afterlife, the Book of the Dead for example was interned in Egyptians tombs and was a series of spells to be uttered by and for the deceased so that they may gain access to the afterlife. The crescendo of this practice was the ‘weighing of the heart’ a morality test which assessed whether the deceased heart was heavy with sin or light as a feather – if heavy it would be eaten by a lion-like beast called Ammit, if light the deceased could pass unhindered to their second life.

 

Egypt and the Outside World

Despite claims to the contrary, Egypt was not alone in the deserts of Northeast Africa and the deserts were far from empty. To the west were the Libyans, a largely nomadic group of potent foes of Egypt who would themselves become pharaohs. South of Egypt were the Nubians and the Kingdom of Kush, a strong Kingdom that was the origin of much of Egypt’s trade goods such as gold, incense, and exotic animals. Nubia and Egypt have a complicated history, at many times one neighbour invaded the other, and there were always a series of border fortifications between the two Kingdoms to protect their interests, while in the New Kingdom the Egyptian state annihilated the entity of Kush and colonized much of its lands. Likewise in the 25th Dynasty, Nubian King’s conquered Egypt and controlled it as a province. North and East of Egypt in the Levant were various groups of settled and nomadic groups. Egyptians had been trading with these people throughout every era, particularly the harbour cities of Phoenicia (mod. Lebanon). Pharaohs of the New Kingdom conquered most of Israel-Palestine and established a client-vassal relationship with local rulers. From c. 1100 BCE, new foes in the Near East such as the Hittites, Assyrians, and Persians, challenged Egypt from this region and eventually conquered Egypt under the Persians. From the north also came the last in a successive wave of conquerors of Egypt, the Greeks under Alexander the Great (332 BC) and his successor Ptolemy I. With the growing power of Rome in the Eastern Mediterranean, Egypt would eventually lose all its independence and become a Roman province with the last Ptolemaic ruler being the famous seductress, Cleopatra VII (30 BC).

Since the earliest pharaohs, Egyptians sent many expeditions to the adjacent deserts in order to trade but primarily in search of mineral wealth. The Eastern Desert and Sinai are one of the world’s richest mineral regions, and contains many valuable minerals such as malachite (eye-paint), copper, lead, gold, as well as gemstones like turquoise and carnelian. Egypt’s famous gold-wealth, encapsulated in famous objects like Tutankhamun’s burial mask, is largely a result of this gold wealth and expeditionary zeal. Expeditions also crossed the desert and established harbours on the Red Sea coast, trading with the distant land of Punt in the southern Red Sea and obtaining the prized product of myrrh for use in their temple rituals. Under the Ptolemaic empire, this Red Sea trade would reach new lands and become part of the southern ‘maritime silk road’, linking Egypt with India, East Africa and even lands as distant as Vietnam and China.