考古学

关于古文明的研究,多半要借重古代的文物与文献,文字能提供我们想象与论证;而文物与遗迹,则提供我们真实的古代生活样貌。唯有详细的理解并甄别这些古代的遗留,我们才有可能贴近古人的所思所想、所生活的每一天。这门帮助我们穿梭时空的学问,我们称之为“考古学”。

 

何为“考古学”

 

考古学是根据古代人类社会留传下来的遗物和遗迹来研究古代历史的学科。考古学的英文Archaeology,源于希腊语 arkhaios “古代”。

 

考古学家试图通过各种技术来研究古代历史,最常见的是古代遗址的挖掘,还会配合上许多的研究方法,如地表调查(不进行挖掘)、文物分析,或者使用非侵入性的探勘研究,如探地雷达。近代也开始针对传统的考古学理论进行反思,包括考古纪录的撰写、历史诠释以及批判性的理论思考。因此现在考古学必须是综合许多子学科的跨领域学科,例如生物人类学(人体遗骸研究)、生物考古学(针对生物材料),以及借助实验室进行的科学方法(如放射性定年法、同位素研究)。由于文物、遗迹的多样性,考古学家一般只能专注于某几项分支学科,或者针对特定地区、特定时代(如旧石器时代、青铜时代)、物质对象(如针对陶器、青铜器)进行深入研究。在人类所遗留的各项产物中,考古学虽也涉及文字的研究材料,但这类如文献、铭文等文物,则常由不同的学科来进行研究。

 

挖掘过去

在考古学的实地探索中,最常见的情形就是对某个遗址进行系统性的挖掘。挖掘有许多不同的形式:缓慢开展的古城挖掘到大规模区域挖掘,也有在现代开发前进行快速纪录遗址情形的抢救挖掘,端看考古学者的判断以及遗址的现存情况判定挖掘方式。例如范围广阔,被称为“Tell”的台型遗址,就需要几十年缓慢的系统性挖掘。以近东地区的台型遗址来说,每阶段的挖掘都出土不同时期的人类文明遗迹。这样的大型挖掘,尤其在研究游牧或采集时期的人类历史特别有用处,因为广大的挖掘现场,能够允许学者进行大规模的场地勘查与环境鉴识,从而更精确还原古代聚落的样貌。

 TELL.png

 以色列青铜时期的“Tell”(台型遗址) 

 

考古学并不是一个专属于现代的学问,在人类的历史中,古人也经常进行考古性质的挖掘行为。古埃及的文献向我们证明,埃及贵族有时会为了研究更久远之前的历史,从而对遗迹进行翻修和挖掘;在中世纪时期的中国,宋代学者也对商朝时期的青铜器感兴趣。然而,如同其他学科,现代意义的考古学一般被认为从18至19世纪才开始,且考古学的出现与地质学的进步有密切关联。当时的地质学让人们意识到,各个地质层的出现,标志着时间的延续性,新的在上、旧的在下,这个看似常识的发现,才奠定了考古学能透过地层顺序排列出土文物的时间,从而划定诸如工艺技术、文物器皿等古物出现的时代先后。此后,才依据这样的理解,排列出欧亚大陆及北非地区的众多考古遗迹,整列出旧石器时代、新石器时代、青铜时代与铁器时代等基本顺序。附带一提,这套石器以至于铁器的时代划分,并不能适用于整个人类世界的文明进程,如大洋洲与美洲,由于冶金工艺一直并未成为当地主要的技术手段,所以这套文明进程模式也不适用于当地。


STONE.png

 新石器时代的遗迹:埃夫伯里的立石

 

挖掘城市

古代聚落的挖掘,可以说是考古学领域中最常见的活动。根据聚落建筑材质的不同(石头、泥砖、木材、稻草),考古学家的挖掘方式也有着巨大差异。但不管是何种方式,基本都是将挖掘现场区分为一个个的网格区块,再进行深浅不一的系统挖掘,有时是为了还原建筑轮廓,有时则是为了挖掘古文物。有些古物非常的细碎,必须通过严谨的筛检才能发现,例如植物种子。随着挖掘工作的进行(通常是数年),会陆续展现出完整的遗迹样貌。但也有人说考古就是对过去的破坏,因为一旦遗址被挖掘出来,都不免会遭受到某种程度上的破坏,而这种破坏是不可逆的。

 

这也意味着,挖掘过程需要一丝不苟的严谨态度,除了做好记录工作,从土壤颜色到墙上石头的排列等都要清楚标明,以便最大限度地获取有用信息。每件文物也都必须有条不紊地标记,要究明它们所在的位置,标明层位,记明坐标;因为同样的文物在不同位置出现时,往往说明它们的不同功能。如形制相同的陶器在屋宇、墓葬、垃圾场中出土,所具备的意义完全不同。

 

挖掘工作结束后,所有出土的建筑、器皿等文物都会被绘制、拍照,并与其他遗迹的文物进行比较分析。例如古代社会中广泛使用的陶器,其形制、风格、作工等每一种指标,都可以用来评估古代社会的经济文化状况,还可以透过对比不同的类型序列,进行年代的评估;配合上碳年代定年法,就可以非常准确有效的鉴别遗址时代。在研究时,“陶器”、“石器”、“人类遗骸”、“生物遗骸”往往都是独立描述和评估的,所以将这些数据组合在一起判读时,又可以广泛呈现遗迹的具体样貌,包括人口、生活模式甚至宗教文化、埋葬习俗。甚至可以帮助我们复原古代聚落的样貌。

村庄.png

德国康斯坦茨湖复原的新石器时代“棚屋”村庄

 

考古学的未来

随着越来越多的新技术应用于考古学,我们可以提出许多前辈学者从未想过的新问题:探地雷达与激光雷达的使用,让我们可以观察掩蔽在丛林深处、埋藏在地底的古代遗址;卫星影像的活用,使得考古学者能够更快速的搜寻古代遗迹;同位素研究提供岩石矿物中的化学变化轨迹,让学者能够从不同的角度观察当地的自然地理变化;生物学、同位素化学的结合发展,让学者能从生物牙齿中比对出当代的饮食背景,判断出土金属的来源与使用模式。除此之外,新的科技发明也大幅度改变考古学的传统方式,例如无人机测量取代了以人工丈量遗迹的方式;3D摄影与绘图,也帮助考古学者快速纪录遗迹与建构遗迹模型。新的工具与发明,让考古学成为一门综合性极强、有着无限可能的学科。


考古学的挑战

考古学所面临的挑战是多样性的,从寻求资助的现实层面到学术上的对文物、遗迹研究的方法、结果诠释。另一个重大的挑战是,对学者而言,许多有待考古挖掘的地区仍然是禁区,通常是因为涉及到地区政治问题或者是法律风俗上的禁令等原因。此外,则是这些遗迹,往往伴随着人口增加的开发需求而遭受到持续性的破坏。只有在拥有完善法令保护的地区,这些历史遗产才能最大程度的避免被破坏的命运,得以被保存或完善纪录。而黑市等地下交易的盛行,也是考古文物的重大挑战;在法令不完整的地方,盗取、私卖古物的热络交易,往往给予古代遗迹毁灭性的打击。

Archaeology

What is Archaeology?

Archaeology is the study of the ancient past through its material culture, the physical remains of the past. The English word is Greek in origin from arkhaios ‘ancient’. An archaeologist seeks to study the past through a great variety of techniques, most commonly in popular consciousness is the excavation and digging of ancient sites, but there is indeed a myriad of methods at the archaeologist’s disposal. This includes surface surveys (no excavation), analysis of objects already procured in museum collections, or use of non-invasive approaches (such as ground-penetrating radar). Increasingly prevalent also is the practice of ‘theoretical archaeology’ which includes critical approaches to the practice and interpretation of the archaeological record. Archaeology nowadays relies on a huge number of sub-disciplines. This includes physical anthropology (the study of human remains), bioarchaeology (the study of biological materials), and many lab-scientific approaches (radiocarbon dating, isotope studies). Due to the great diversity on the archaeological record, archaeologists almost always specialize in one of these sub-disciplines, a particular region, a particular material object (i.e. ceramics or pottery), or a particular period of history (palaeolithic, neolithic, bronze age etc). Usually, the study of written documents is considered to belong to other disciplines (philology, epigraphy, papyrology, history), but archaeologists do deal with writing in the form of physical written objects.

 

Excavation and the past

The controlled and methodical excavation of a site is perhaps most frequently connected with the practice of ‘archaeology’. Excavation can take on many forms, from the slow unfolding excavation of an ancient city to spot excavations across a huge region, to rapid ‘salvage’ excavation to quickly document a site before development. No method is necessarily superior to another but is moulded to the questions archaeologists seek to answer as well as the context of the site. Huge tell sites, the mounds of ancient cities in the Near East, for example, require slow and methodical excavation over many decades, with each phase of excavation uncovering a new layer and occupation of the same city. In nomadic or hunter-gatherer societies, surveying over a large horizontal space is often more fruitful, and allows a scholar to build a picture of the regional use of the landscape and environment, often identifying ancient campsites.


TELL.png

Excavation of a Bronze Age tell‘mound’site, Israel, © Robert Mullins, Azusa Pacific University/Tel Abel Beth Maacah Excavations

 

Archaeological excavation in one form or another has been practiced throughout humanity, where ancient societies frequently excavated their own past. Ancient Egyptian texts demonstrate that nobles sometimes studied the ancient past, even refurbishing and uncovering old monuments. Likewise in medieval China, learned scholars took an interest in ancient objects such as bronze objects from the Shang Dynasty, a tradition that was well-established amongst the intelligentsia of the Song Dynasty. The modern discipline of archaeology, like so many other scholarly pursuits, is generally considered to begin in the 18th and 19th centuries and is linked to the recognition of ‘stratigraphy’ in geology, the idea that that the remains of the human past consisted of successive layers in the ground, each lower layer being older than the last. This basic but important insight allowed scholars to put artefacts in chronological order, eventually paving the way for the basic ordering of major epochs or ‘ages’ in the archaeology of Eurasia and North Africa into the Palaeolithic (old-stone age), Neolithic (new-stone age), Bronze Age, and Iron Age based on the technological capability of the societies excavated. These epochs, however, make little sense when applied to other parts of the world such as Oceania or the Americas where such metallurgical practices are either not present or are not good indicators of dividing historical periods.


STONE.png

The archaeology of Neolithic Britain, the standing stones at the Avebury flanked by a large artificial ditch.

 

Excavating a city

A common view of archaeological practice is the excavation of ancient settlement. Depending on the settlement architecture (stone, mudbrick, wood, straw etc) what the archaeologist finds will differ markedly. But the basic practice will remain the same, the site will be divided into a grid with a series of trenches dug into each successive layer of the site. This practice will usually reveal the outlines of buildings as well as many artefacts. Some artefacts are so small that they need to be sieved to reveal things like seeds, very important indicators of ancient agricultural practices. As the excavation proceeds (often over years), the site will reveal new layers of occupation, often centuries older than the previous. A common adage here is that ‘archaeology is destruction’ in that once a part of the site is excavated it is now lost and cannot be recovered. This means that the process of excavation needs to be meticulous, and record everything from soil colour to the alignment of stones in a wall so that we can obtain the maximum amount of information from the past. Context is crucially important, and every artefact must be methodically mapped and tagged to demonstrate its origin in the horizontal and vertical coordinates of the site. The interpretation of an object can differ markedly based on context, for example a pottery vessel found in a house, a burial, or a rubbish pit can look identical but all three different contexts demonstrate very different functional uses of a simple pot.

Post-excavation, the artefacts from a site are usually drawn, photographed, and subjected to analysis for publication, along with the plans of the larger site. In many ancient societies, pottery is a particularly important object for the excavator as its ubiquity, durability, and change in style means that it can be used not only to assess the ancient economy, but the typological sequence of pottery changes can be used as a good indicator of the rough date of a site. Tied with carbon dating of organic remains, it is possible to construct a very effective chronology of a site, with each layer dated by a combination of techniques. Each and every object class ‘pottery’, ‘stone tools’, ‘human remains’, ‘organic remains’, ‘small finds’ are usually independently described and assessed. When all these data points are combined, it is possible to provide an interpretation of the site. This might include any assessment of the population history of the site, its economy, or even description of ritual or burial practices.  

 

村庄.png

A reconstructed Neolithic village of ‘stilt-houses’, Lake Constance, Germany

 

Where does Archaeology go from here?

With the increasing use of new technologies in archaeological practice, we can ask new questions of the ancient past that early scholars never would have dreamed. Ground penetrating radar and LIDAR allow us to peer at ancient sites underground or through dense jungle. Satellite photography has revolutionized how archaeologists search for sites, especially in desert environments where vegetation does not obscure the outlines of ancient structures. Isotope studies, looking at the chemical traces in various minerals, can give us unique insights into a variety of different fields. For example, isotope studies focusing on human teeth are able to determine the basic kinds of diet of a deceased individual, while studies of ancient metals or minerals might be able to demonstrate the exact place where something was mined or procured. Aerial drones are becoming increasingly standard tools in archaeological practice, not only allow for aerial photography but through the practice of photogrammetry can create quick maps and 3D-models of whole buildings and objects.  


Challenges

The challenges of archaeological practice are many and range from basic practical issues of access and funding to more complex problems relating to our methodologies and interpretations. One of the chief problems that is obvious from an overview of world archaeology is the fact that some regions are still ‘unknown’ from the archaeological perspective. This is usually attributable to reasons of political instability or difficulty of access to certain regions. A pressing concern, especially in these regions but exhibited throughout the world is the ongoing pace of destruction of archaeological heritage. As the population of the world increases with the ever-pressing need for development of infrastructure and agricultural land, archaeological sites are being destroyed at rapid pace. Only where local laws are enforced is archaeological heritage routinely documented before it is destroyed. The pace of destruction is even more disturbing in parts of the world where there is a clandestine antiquities trade. In such cases sites are routinely plundered for procuring artefacts for sale on the antiquities market, destroying all the vital contextual information of the artefact and often destroying whole burials or buildings in the process.